# **COUNTY COUNCIL**

Minutes of an Extraordinary Meeting of the County Council held in the Council Chamber, Shire Hall, Taunton on Wednesday 28 November 2018 at 10.00 am

**Present:** Cllr C Aparicio Paul, Cllr M Best, Cllr A Broom, Cllr P Clayton (Vice-Chair in the Chair), Cllr J Clarke, Cllr S Coles, Cllr A Dance, Cllr H Davies, Cllr M Dimery, Cllr B Filmer, Cllr D Fothergill, Cllr G Fraschini, Cllr A Govier, Cllr A Groskop, Cllr D Hall, Cllr M Healey, Cllr N Hewitt-Cooper, Cllr James Hunt, Cllr John Hunt, Cllr D Huxtable, Cllr M Keating, Cllr A Kendall, Cllr C Lawrence, Cllr M Lewis, Cllr L Leyshon, Cllr J Lock, Cllr T Lock, Cllr T Napper, Cllr G Noel, Cllr L Oliver, Cllr J Parham, Cllr L Redman, Cllr B Revans, Cllr G Verdon, Cllr W Wallace, Cllr A Wedderkopp, Cllr J Williams, Cllr R Williams, Cllr J Woodman.

#### 112 Apologies for Absence - Agenda Item 1

Apologies for absence were received from: Cllrs Nigel Taylor, Mike Caswell, John Thorne, Tony Lock, Mike Pullin and Dave Loveridge.

## 113 **Declarations of Interest** - Agenda Item 2

Members' written notifications of interests were affixed to the Notice Board at the back of the Council Chamber for the duration of the meeting

#### 114 **Public Question Time** - Agenda Item 3

There were none.

#### 115 Electoral Division name change proposal – Report of the Constitution and Standards Committee - Agenda Item 4

- (1) Strategic Manager for Partnerships Governance, Julian Gale, introduced the report which set out a recommendation from the Constitution and Standards Committee to change the name of the Wellington Electoral Division to the Wellington and Rockwell Green Electoral Division.
- (2) Members were informed this followed consideration of proposals to change the names of four electoral divisions to better reflect their local geography and community identities.
- (3) Electoral division names were normally decided by the Electoral Commission at the time of a boundary review but because it was half way through the boundary review timetable the legislation allowed the Council to amend electoral division names in accordance with the required process. This had been quite a laborious procedure.
- (4) Cllr Andrew Govier, representing Wellington, explained that the recommendation was non-political and had the support of Wellington Town Council.
- (5) The Council RESOLVED unanimously to agree to change the name of the Wellington Electoral Division to the Wellington and Rockwell Green Electoral Division and inform the Electoral Commission accordingly.

The Council also noted that the Committee had not made any recommendations for changes to the names of the: (a) Castle Cary Electoral Division

(b) Blackdown and Neroche Electoral Division

(c) Watchet and Stogursey Electoral Division.

### (The meeting ended at 1.26pm)

#### CHAIR